Miscellany – January 6, 2016



Becky Jackson’s book (written with Jackie Grutsch McKinney and Nicole Caswell), The Working Lives of New Writing Center Directors, will be published by Utah State University Press in Fall 2016. Utah State UP is the foremost publisher of writing center research and scholarship.


Aimee Roundtree’s “Social Health Content and Activity on Facebook: A Survey Study,” was accepted for publication in the Journal of Technical Writing and Communication.


MFA poetry graduate and current Lecturer Vanessa Couto Johnson, along with recent MFA poetry graduates John Fry and Luisa Muradyan, has work in the latest issue of Blackbirdhttp://www.blackbird.vcu.edu/v14n2/poetry.shtml.


The Personal Academic and Career Exploration Mentoring and Coaching Office (PACE-MAC) named Keith Needham its 2015 “Best Instructor as Part of a Team” for his work with an assigned peer mentor in his US 1100 classes. The award was announced after Needham assigned his students to work with their peer mentor in writing narratives in the fashion of the Tomas Rivera Common Experience text, . . . And The Earth Did Not Devour Him. Needham then taped the students’ presentations and produced a video of the best four narratives. The video is entitled Bridged Through Stories: . . . And Neither Did the Earth Devour Them. Keith’s strategies became part of the nominating process for PACE-MAC’s statewide recognition for use of classroom mentors. In December, The University of Texas at San Antonio named Texas State’s PACE-MAC team a recipient of the Outstanding Mentoring Program in Texas.


Octavio Pimentel will present “Too Mexican: Facing Racist Rhetoric,” at the Southwest Council of Latin American Studies conference, to be held February 2016 in New Orleans. Beginning next year, Octavio will serve a three-year term on the Editorial Board of College Composition and Communication, which is one of the top journals in composition.


Susan Morrison received a Research Enhancement Grant award of $6,560 for next year. She was one of 11 receiving awards in Liberal Arts this year.


The following non-tenure-line faculty in English have received a Faculty Senate Nontenure Faculty Workload Release Award for fall or spring 2016-2017: Jason Coates, Daniel Keltner, Lindy Kosmitis, and Jon Marc Smith.


MFA Fiction student Graham Oliver interviewed Debra Monroe about her new memoir and the genre of memoir at large for The Rumpushttp://therumpus.net/2015/12/the-rumpus-interview-with-debra-monroe/.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *