17 June 2015 – Miscellany


Recent graduate Nathan Machart, winner of the 2013 and 2014 Gates Thomas Award from Persona, has a story, “Poor, Bleeding Country,” forthcoming in Carolina Quarterly.

Cecily Parks’ poem “Morning Instructions for the Doctor’s Wife” appears in the June 22 issue of The New Yorker.

Graduate student Katherine Stingley has been awarded one of only 17 Celebrity Classic Scholarships. The award is a highly competitive multi-year scholarship from Texas State, providing up to $1,500 per semester for the student’s remaining hours in the degree. This year, over 400 students applied for the scholarship.

MATC alumna Whitney Lacey has accepted a position as a Content Specialist at Electronic Arts Inc. (EA) in Austin, Texas.  EA develops and publishes EA Sports titles, The Sims, and many other popular videos games. Whitney will write HELP articles and documentation to support EA games.

Susan Morrison’s latest book, The Literature of Waste, is out from Palgrave Macmillan.

MA Literature student Tyler Dukes presented “Sacred Time and Ritualistic Behavior at Harry Potter Book Releases and Film Premieres,” at the June 2015 Fandom and Neomedia Studies (FANS) Conference, hosted by A-Kon in Dallas. The same article will be published in the July edition of The Phoenix Papers, an online peer-reviewed journal.

Michel Conroy, Chair of the Faculty Senate, sent the following note to Dr. Lochman, Chair of the English Department: “To encourage recognition of faculty service on the Faculty Senate and its sixteen committees, as well as the twenty-one university level committees to which the Faculty Senate makes appointments, I am forwarding a list of English faculty serving on these committees for the 2014-2015 academic year: Dr. Rebecca Bell-Metereau:  Faculty Senate, Supplemental Award Review Committee, University Council; Dr. Roger Jones:  Faculty Handbook Committee; Ms. Amanda Meyer:  Adjunct Faculty Committee Liaison; Dr. Victoria Smith:  Honor Code Council; Dr. Miriam Williams:  Library Committee; Mr. Steve Wilson:  University Arts Committee; Ms. Sarah Youree:  Budget Committee. Thank you for serving on the Academic Governance Committee this year.  Although there are additional university committees on which faculty may serve, in 2014-2015, thirty-eight College of Liberal Arts faculty served on these thirty-seven committees, eight (including you) from the Department of English.”

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *